Personification

My boyfriend has a shirt from threadless that I really love. It looks like this:

I’ve always held high admiration for the Japanese in personifying any possible inanimate objects, such as food items like the sushis you see above. Because of that, I often find myself trying to personify things when I doodle. This is what I did to the notebook at church camp this year:

Recently, I came across a comment that shared about personifying cover letters. This lady was applying for a position at a pharmaceutical company and she started her CV like this: “Dear xx, There is something that you need to know about me. I love drugs.” Guess what? She got called up and eventually landed in that job. I recall how back in school, I was being taught to be “professional at all times” in all work-related correspondences. It seems to me that in this new age, people are attracted to reading things that are personified – they want to see a face behind those boring alphabets. I wonder if this is due to the fact that people are too cluttered with new things and information? People these days get bored at such a fast rate. Nonetheless, I am happy to see more of personification as it unleashes creativity.

This reminded me about how Jesus calls us to have a personal relationship with Him.

John 15:13-16 “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you. You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the Father in My name He may give you.”

Psalm 139:1-5 “Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I stand up; You understand my thoughts from far away. You observe my travels and my rest; You are aware of all my way. Before a word is on my tongue, You know all about it, Lord. You have encircled me; You have placed Your hand on me.”

I know many people see Christianity as just another religion. They see it as nothing more than a set of rules and rituals that a person has to observe in order to go to heaven after death. However, that is not true of Christianity. Jesus is more than a set of rules and rituals.

I think we as humans, because we don’t see God (or Jesus) as a real physical object (i.e. human), many a times, we find it hard to relate. Some people think that god(s) are only meant to be worshipped in rites and rituals. However, once one chooses to have a personal relationship with Jesus, everything will become so personal and relevant in his/her daily life. Why then should we box God up in a box when He is much more than a box? After all, He is the creator of the universe. He is the creator of creativity.

When we box God up in a box, it is like reading just another boring cover letter. But when we have a personal relationship with Him (drawing parallels – when one personifies the cover letter), everything will come alive! So let’s rejoice that we have a Friend like no other to go to in times of pain, sorrow and joy.

Leave a Reply

